Reviews

Acer Aspire TC Desktop PC (Intel Core Ci5-8400/2TB HDD/8GB RAM/Windows 10)

2.9
Based on 17 ratings

Sort

  • Power switch - loose in housing
    by

    from Red Deer, AB on January 12, 2019

    Purchased 2 months - ago after a month the power switch does not turn on the PC anymore. Taking it apart, it seems the power switch has come loose from the actual on/off button - I'm going to dismantle and see if I can "fix". Otherwise I'm going to purchase a new case and transfer the components. If you are having similar issues, ie. won't turn on - this is the reason.


  • Acer Aspire TC Desktop PC
    by

    from Mount Carmel, NL on December 29, 2018

    Purchased an Acer Aspire TC Desktop PC (Intel Core Ci5-8400/2TB HDD/8GB RAM/Windows 10) as Christmas gift, when I tried hooking it up, the power button on tower would not even turn the computer on. JUNK


  • Worst desktop purchase experience due to Acer's awful quality
    by

    from Nepean, ON on December 22, 2018

    One of the front USB slots was not working when my Acer PC (ATC-710-EB51) purchased at Bestbuy was delivered. I learnt online that this model has only 300 watts, but was too busy to replace it. Less than two years after my purchase, this PC suddenly went out of power and could not power on again. The motherboard is defective and difficult to replace as it seems to be an older model that supports DDR3 ram only. All motherboards at Canada Computers support DDR4 only.


  • Pretty decent actually
    by

    from Calgary, AB on December 18, 2018

    I've had mine now for about a month now and I'm pretty happy with it. Even without a dedicated graphics card it runs games with not too bad quality. It's a good base if you want to upgrade parts, especially adding a graphics card if you game. That said I'm not sure whether it's mine specifically but every once in a while the DVD drive makes a lot of noise for about a minute, you can open and close it and it'll stop or leave it. Overall nice it's a pretty good for the price.


  • One of the best in business if you happen to buy it on sale!
    by

    from Saskatoon, SK on December 15, 2018

    I picked one up when in sale. Totally worth it. I would say it is good even for its original price but if you grab it on sale, it is a real good buy. It is a decently built tower with enough options for future upgrades. Add a Nvidia GTX 1060 and a 500GB SSD, it will take this tower to another performance level. Even without this upgrades ,it is a workhorse. I am running it with a 21 inch Asus 1080p monitor and Rapoo k2600 wireless keyboard. Very clean set-up and smooth performance. The tower is quiet and get warm when run for a longer period of time with multiple applications which is fine. I really don't understand why there are so many bad reviews for this PC. My guess is most people who bought it didn't really know how to setup a PC and get it to do it's job.


  • Almost a perfect replacement for the one that died.
    by

    from White Rock, BC on December 3, 2018

    I bought this last week after doing quite a bit of research. I compared this i5-8400 offering against similar priced i7 versions but the i% performed better than most of the i7 variations. Within three hours of opening the box, I had everything I need installed. If there is any down side it is having a virus like Norton pre installed. After a day of running, Norton had brought my browser to a stand still. Uninstalled it and now the computer is faster than it was when I got everything loaded.


  • Dead on arrival
    by

    from Woodstock, ON on December 2, 2018

    Brand new desktop right out of the box. Power light lights up, small fan notice but does not boot or provide power to monitor or keyboard. Called Acer tried to troubleshoot as I first thought there is no way they a dead desktop would pass their quality control and sent to the consumer before some checked to see if it actually worked when you pressed the power button. Turns out I was wrong. Their quality control is garbage. Should have listened to other reviews. STAY AWAY


  • Great PC
    by

    from Caledon East, ON on November 28, 2018

    The only reason this PC has received negative reviews is because of idiots who don't know how to use computers. Seriously some people should do us all a favour and just stay away from technology completely. Great price for the specs you get.


  • Good basic PC
    by

    from Vernon, BC on November 26, 2018

    I added a Samsung SSD (the 860 EVO SATA 2.5") to be the new C: drive and speed up the disk access. To get the power cable long enough to reach the SSD, I had to remove the cover plate of the DVD, the PC front cover (swings away), the HDD and the DVD drive. All easily accessible. The power cable has its extra length wrapped up with a twist tie. You will need a short SATA cable to reach the SSD, which mounts clean below the HDD. Boot time decreased from 31 seconds to 25 secs. Not huge, but there are noticeable speed improvements when using Apps. It wouldn't let the SSD be the boot drive until I physically swapped SATA cables, then the original HDD could be reformatted to a fresh non-bootable drive. I like the PC's quiet operation, small size and abundance of USB ports. I've had no stability issues or other limitations. My next upgrade will to be a video adapter when the right one goes on sale.


  • never again
    by

    from Orleans, ON on November 23, 2018

    for year i had HP, and lasted for 10 years and more, last year i decided to try ACER, never again, after ayear it started acting up, slow and crashes, goign back to HP. Very happy.



Feedback